Chamomile Tea May Not Be Safe During Pregnancy

added by Web
Chamomile Tea May Not Be Safe During Pregnancy
  • Write Comments
  • Innappropiate
  • Feature This!
Continue
Comments

Video Information
From:

Web

Send PM
(10658) | (0) | (0)
Added: 26-06-2012
Runtime: 1m 36s
Views: 13760
Comments: 0

Login to Rate Video

Current Rating:
Not yet rated
(0 Votes)


Description

For the same reason aspirin should be avoided in pregnancy, chamomile has such powerful anti-inflammatory properties that regular consumption may result in a serious fetal heart problem--premature constriction of the fetal ductus arteriosus, which allows the fetus to "breathe" in the womb. For more on chamomile tea, see Red Tea, Honeybush, & Chamomile (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/red-tea-honeybush-chamomile-2/) and The Healthiest Herbal Tea (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-healthiest-herbal-tea/). For other cautionary pregnancy tales, see What About the Caffeine? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/what-about-the-caffeine/), Is Licorice Good For You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-licorice-good-for-you/), Iron During Pregnancy (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/iron-during-pregnancy/), Maternal Mercury Levels (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/maternal-mercury-levels/), Pregnant Vegans at Risk for Iodine Deficiency (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pregnant-vegans-at-risk-for-iodine-deficiency-2/), American Vegans Placing Babies at Risk (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/american-vegans-placing-babies-at-risk/), and Chicken Consumption and the Feminization of Male Genitalia (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chicken-consumption-and-the-feminization-of-male-genitalia/). Another common herbal tea that may have a potential downside is yerba mate- Update on Yerba Maté (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/update-on-yerba-mate/). The best beverage during pregnancy is water. If you haven't yet, please check out the hundreds of other videos on more than a thousand topics at http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/ and let me know if you have any questions! Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chamomile-tea-may-not-be-safe-during-pregnancy/ and he'll try to answer it!


Video URL:



Embed URL
index.watched_videos: