Is Hydroponic Basil as Healthy?

added by Web
Is Hydroponic Basil as Healthy?
  • Write Comments
  • Innappropiate
  • Feature This!
Continue
Comments

Video Information
From:

Web

Send PM
(10717) | (0) | (0)
Added: 27-06-2012
Runtime: 1m 7s
Views: 5643
Comments: 0

Login to Rate Video

Current Rating:
Not yet rated
(0 Votes)


Description

The antioxidant, phytonutrient, and vitamin content of basil grown in water (hydroponic) is compared to basil grown in soil. Herbs and spices are among the healthiest plants to consume. See one of my favorites for example, Antioxidants in a Pinch (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/) and Antioxidant Content of 3,139 foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-content-of-3139-foods/). The glucosinolates I mention are the broccoli compounds featured in videos such as Broccoli Versus Breast Cancer Stem Cells (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/broccoli-versus-breast-cancer-stem-cells/), Sulforaphane: From Broccoli to Breast (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/sulforaphane-from-broccoli-to-breast/), and The Best Detox (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-best-detox/). For how our food crops have been doing in general over the years see Crop Nutrient Decline (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/crop-nutrient-decline/) and for more on the organic question: Can Pesticides Be Rinsed Off? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-pesticides-be-rinsed-off/) and Fungal Toxins in Apples (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fungal-toxins-in-apples/). There are also hundreds of other videos on more than a thousand subjects at http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/. Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-hydroponic-basil-as-healthy/ and he'll try to answer it!


Video URL:



Embed URL
index.watched_videos: